Daytona 500: Cooler temps; hot tempers; and Turn 4 terrors?

Racing at Daytona has certainly been a dream for a select few and a nightmare for many so far this weekend. Friday’s Camping World Truck Race rookie winner John King can attest to that. There have been catchfence crashes (so glad Joey Coulter is okay) and amazing manuevers to avoid wrecks like James Buescher’s that took him to Victory Lane for the Nationwide Race.

Oh, did I mention many, many crashes/cautions 9 for the Truck Series and 8 for the Nationwide Race? So what’s going to be the headline for today’s Daytona 500? Good question. My take is that it will be less volatile, and hopefully weather will not be a factor.

Like the other races we’ve seen this weekend I think you will get a combination pack racing and the two car push and pull. Turn 4 will also play a role. It has been a nemesis particularly when drivers try to go three and four wide. Yikes! It will be frantic at the end and that’s when I expect to see the two-car drafting to be used the most.

My eyes are going to be on the first 15-18 drivers in the line-up particularly if rain becomes a factor. Geez, I think I need to look at my fantasy picks again …

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Delmar Alviso
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 00:20:22

    I like this post, enjoyed this one thankyou for posting .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

