Rights & Lefts? Road racing in Sonoma

As I review my pre-race fantasy predictions, I realize I am at my perennial crossroads when it comes to road-racing: do you go with strong road-racing skills or strong equipment or both? Right now, I’m thinking both.

My huge dilemma right now is choosing between two very decent road-racers with almost exact records: Clint Bowyer with an average finish of 11.2 and Juan Pablo Montoya with an impressive 9.0. Normally this would be a non-brainer, you go with Juan, former Indy 500 champion and Formula 1 racer extraordinaire. The man knows how to turn left and right, save fuel and pass in the corners. However, track position is key here and Juan hasn’t had a stellar season. Juan starts in 12 and Clint starts in 6th. Hmm.

I’m thinking Juan is a very low risk. He has to get a win to even be in contention for the Chase, so he edges out Clint in the more motivated category. OK. Juan it is; I think ….

Curious where I started my fantasy pick pondering? Check out this week’s NASCAR Fantasy Fusion column. Click Here.

Enjoy the race, and those rare left and right turn combinations!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Travis Rowe
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 11:36:52

    I’m in the same scenario myself. As it stands Bowyer will make The Chase based on points (9th), but he can’t afford to lose any ground. With that being said, I expect Montoya to be more aggressive today. I won’t be using either driver 9 times in Yahoo! Fantasy Auto Racing, so that isn’t a factor in my decision making process. All things being equal I like the driver with no reservations. Montoya will also be less expensive in salary cap formats. I’m using Montoya. Good luck at Sonoma!

  2. caroldag1
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 14:33:07

    Thanks for your comment Travis. I just hope nothing wonky happens like Montoya blowing an engine. Did I just say that? Of course, lots of wonky things will happen, it is a road race after all and tempers will definitely flare and engines will be used up. (Oh no, where does Kurt Busch start? I digress …) Yesterday’s Road America race was telling about the importance of track position, but Juan will surely cut through traffic, right? I’m hoping so. Enjoy the race Travis!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

